The Tremolo Beer Gut - Under The Covers With...

Every Minute Alone
Das Modell
She Said
Rave Kned
Le Jacquet
Because They're Young
Danube Incident
Pet Sounds
Johnnies Sykel Intro Theme
9 Times the Pain
Turn Me Up
Damn Right
Las Vegas
Deep Under the Chinese Snow
Death Valley '69

Catalogue no.: FROG 086

Release date: 08-10-2011

THE COVERS recorded in a tremoloramic variety of low fidelity audio formats for your sonic education and listening pleasure:

(Also recorded by WhoMadeWho. Written by Jeppe Kjellberg, Tomas Barfod, Thomas Høffding. © Sony/ATV Publishing)
(Also recorded by Kraftwerk. Written by Ralf Hütter, Emil Schult, Karl Bartos. © Kling Klang Musik GMBH )
(Also recorded by The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion. Written by D. Judah Bauer, Russell Simins, Jonathan K. Spencer. © Dirty Shirt Music)
("Rave Kenneth" also recorded by Beta Satan. Written by Klaus H. Nielsen, Kåre R. Hansen, Johannes Gammelby, Kenneth N. Andersen, Morten S. Riis. © Crunchy Tunes)
("The Jacket" also recorded by First Floor Power. Written by Sara Wilson, Karl-Jonas Winqvist, Per Lager. © Crunchy Tunes)
(Also recorded by Depeche Mode. Written by Martin L. Gore. © Grabbing Hands Music Ltd)
(Also recorded by Duane Eddy. Written by Don Costa, Wally Gold, Aaron H. Schroeder. © Rachel's Own Music)
(Also recorded by Lalo Schifrin. Written by Lalo Schifrin. © Sony Music Publishing Brazil)
(Also recorded by The Beach Boys. Written by Brian Wilson. © Sea Of Tunes Publishing Company)
(Also performed by Johnnies Sykel. Written by Per G. Sunding, Patrik Bartosch, Maurits Carlsson. © Vibrasong)
("Diodo" also recorded by Blue Phantom. Written by Armando Sciascia, Jesper Reginal, Ulrik Petersen, Per G. Sunding, Jens O. B. Lembcke © Eliseo Edizioni/ Crunchy Tunes)
(Also recorded by Tom Waits. Written by Thomas A. Waits. © Jalma Music)
("Turn Me On" also recorded by Superheroes. Written by Thomas S. Troelsen, Tanja F. Simonsen, Asger E. Tarpgaard, Lars Hovendahl, Thomas R. Christensen, Bjarke Staun. © Crunchy Tunes)
(Also recorded by Tothe International. Written by Jesper Reginal, Ulrik Petersen, Robert S. Schmidt, Karsten I. Schiøler, Matthew C. Caldwell. © Crunchy Tunes)
(Also performed by THAU. Written by Jesper Reginal, Ulrik Petersen. © Crunchy Tunes)
("Deep Under the Sea" also recorded by The Mopeds. Written by Jens M. Lindgård, Petter A. Lindgård. © Crunchy Tunes)
(Also recorded by Sonic Youth. Written by Lee M. Ranaldo, Kim A. Gordon, Thurston J. Moore, Bob Bert, Lydia Lunch © Sonik Tooth)

The 17 fine selections comprising "Under the Covers With…" were recorded between 1998 and 2011 by The Tremolo Beer Gut. Some for inclusion on TBG albums, some for the infamous Bad Afro vinyl club single "While Squaresville Is Watching From Afar…" later released on CD on "From the Vinyl Archives of…", others for compilations and quite a few as alternatives to so-called "remixes" for other artists and therefore only available on non-TBG releases. Until now. Finally all the undercover work of The Tremolo Beer Gut is compiled for your sonic education and listening pleasure. As an added bonus this record album includes 5 as of yet unreleased covers.

The Tremolo Beer Gut are The Great Nalna and Jengo on guitars, Per Sunding on bass guitar and Yebo behind the drums. The members of the band also handled various organs, percussion, zither, autoharp, vibraphone, gongs and quite often each other's instruments as well. Sune Rose Wagner was a member of the band until 2003 and played guitar on Death Valley '69, Pet Sounds, Das Modell, Turn Me Up, Las Vegas and Because They're Young and mumbled the lyrics on Turn Me Up. Jessica Tolf Vulpius whispered gently on Johnnies Sykel Intro Theme, The Micragirls screamed with delight on 9 Times the Pain and Manoj Ramdas played the bass guitar on Rave Kned.

All the songs were respectfully arranged, recorded, produced and mixed by The Tremolo Beer Gut except She Said which was mixed by Maurits Carlsson. All songs were recorded in various stereo formats in Tambourine Studios, Malmö and Kondi Frost, Copenhagen except Turn Me Up which was recorded in Delta Lab, Rødovre. This compilation was mastered by Nikolaj Vinten at Medley Mastering, Copenhagen. The cover photo was as usual taken by Jessica Tolf Vulpius and the artwork was designed by Jesper Reginal after an idea by Martin Martin Denns Dennark.

The band wish to thank all their collaborators in the studio sessions as well as on the road throughout the years, but first and foremost the great songwriters that wrote these tunes and the amazing artists and groups that originally recorded and performed them. If you like these cover versions, please seek out the originals and enjoy them as well. You may be surprised but you won't be disappointed.

Tumbleweeds across the bridge, that’s what they are. No, come to think of it, these four fiddlers actually anchored the bridge poles mentally, well before the flyover was ready to roll. That concrete highway between the kingdoms of Denmark and Sweden was still an illusion when they got started.

Like viking chief Krok long before him, crunchy thunder thumping man Yebo traveled to Scania on a quest. In a 1996 shrimp and snaps fueled speedboat mini version of those infamous long ships with which the norsemen had terrified every other tribe on the planet, a wee thousand years earlier. Landed, Yebo and his men raided the Tambourine temple only to kidnap its modern day equivalent of Red Snake – Sunding. Actually not that red, but a precious snakelike champion of no less than four fat buzzing wires. With Jengo and Sune Rose (soon to be replaced by The Great Nalna) already masterly doubling on the thinner strings, the squad was ready for this most important musical mission. There then, the high voltage plug between Malmö and Copenhagen in its socket. Pinning down the effects this has had on music, language, greeting manners, brotherhood and intoxication habits across the Sound - not to mention the vast side effects - will indeed engage future historians for decades.

Who needs lyrics? Their music speaks better than most by just getting the note and passing it on; the one on life’s mystery, those on its blessings and horrors, on cacti, sex, mono sound and generally tearing the place up. These are important subjects which we all should consider as we skid like drones with a shiteating grin from the bar across the dance floor towards the stage - for that particular sound. Whether it be original songs heavenly inspired by, or lovingly ripping off, John Barry, Henry Mancini, Joe Meek or Ennio Morricone. Or like here, on these abnormally gutty takes, finally coming full circle by transforming evergreens from the likes of the Beach Boys, Depeche Mode, Kraftwerk and Sonic Youth in to a complete and superb album – most likely the best ever - of covers in that glorious western surf tradition.

For being around to hear, witness and enjoy this wonder, for being shown their glorious path to follow, you should be as grateful as yours truly and the rest of us. To this day, no one has managed to overtake them. God bless The Tremolo Beer Gut for turning on, tuning away and taking off.

Buy and stream at The Crunchy Shop